Texas Drunk Driving Accident Lawyers Assist Injured Victims
Passionate and skilled attorneys aggressively pursue compensation
Anyone who gets behind the wheel of a car while impaired by alcohol or drugs is risking serious or even fatal harm to themselves and others on the road. Drunk driving is a criminal violation, but if an accident results and someone is hurt, the driver can also be sued for damages. If you or a loved one has been injured by an impaired driver, you can hold that driver responsible in civil court for any harm they might have caused. If the driver has been convicted of DUI, that criminal court judgment can serve as evidence in your civil lawsuit. At Hope & Causey, P.C. in Conroe, our auto accident lawyers have vast experience with drunk driving accidents. We provide aggressive representation to hold the at-fault driver and others fully accountable for their actions.
How can a Texas drunk driving accident lawyer help you?
Our personal injury attorneys are skilled at helping victims of auto accidents caused by impaired drivers. We will file a claim with the driver’s insurance company and negotiate a fair settlement whenever possible. If the insurer refuses to make a satisfactory offer of compensation, we will take your case to court and fight for your rights. If the drunk driver has inadequate insurance, we attempt to attach other assets that could satisfy a judgment. Our investigation of your case might also disclose other possible defendants, such as an individual who provided the driver alcohol in violation of the Texas dram shop and social host laws.
What you should know about Texas drunk driving laws
Alcohol and other drugs dull a driver’s senses and slow reaction time, making accidents far more likely. In Texas, a driver can be charged with DWI if they have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or above. For drivers under the age of 21, the BAC threshold is 0.02. For commercial drivers, the threshold is 0.04. However, drivers can face DWI charges if they are visible impaired, regardless of their BAC. A first offense DWI conviction is a Class B Misdemeanor, calling for up to six days in jail and a fine up to $2,000. Subsequent DWI convictions carry harsher penalties.
Whom can you sue if you’ve been injured in a Conroe drunk driving accident?
The obvious defendant is the impaired driver who caused the accident, but that driver may not have sufficient insurance or other resources to pay the damages you are entitled to. Under Texas law, other parties might be responsible and could be added as defendants in your lawsuit. These parties may include:
- A commercial driver’s employer — Under the legal rule of respondeat superior, an employer is liable for the actions of a worker in the course of employment.
- The liquor store, bar or restaurant — Under the Texas dram shop law, an establishment that sold alcohol to an obviously intoxicated person can be held liable for a subsequent accident.
- Social host — A private individual who provides alcohol to a minor who is not a relative can be held liable for accidents the impaired minor causes.
Our firm thoroughly investigates your case to identify any parties who might share blame for the accident and takes the steps necessary to hold them financially responsible.
Recovering damages after a drunk driving crash
Victims of drunk driving accidents are entitled to economic damages, which include reimbursement for medical expenses, lost income, loss of future earning capability and property damage. Victims are also entitled to noneconomic damages, which may include compensation for pain and suffering and any loss of quality of life.
Meet with a respected Conroe personal injury lawyer
Hope & Causey, P.C. in Conroe represents victims of drunk driving accidents throughout Montgomery County, San Antonio, Houston and the surrounding areas. For a free initial consultation, call 936-441-4673 or contact us online today.