Accomplished Criminal Defense Lawyers Serving Individuals Facing Charges in Conroe, Texas
A trusted law firm providing exceptional service since 1979
If you are facing misdemeanor or felony charges in Texas, going through the criminal justice system can be an intimidating experience. During this time, it’s important to secure skilled legal counsel by working with the respected and highly responsive Conroe criminal defense attorneys at Hope & Causey, P.C. We have an unwavering focus on winning and providing you with the personal attention you need, allowing you to understand your rights and best options moving forward. To meet with a legal professional who truly cares about you and your well-being, reach out to our trusted law firm.
Knowing your rights during and after a drug arrest
Texas law includes the classification of various drugs into five different categories, with Group 1 representing the most serious and Group 5 being the least serious. The severity of the potential penalties also depends on the amount allegedly in your possession, the likely purpose of the possession and where the arrest took place (particularly if it was near a school zone).
It is important to understand that police officers must follow certain procedures when making arrests for alleged drug crimes, and specifically cannot infringe on your Fourth Amendment protections against unreasonable searches and seizures. If officers violate this right, the evidence they collect should not be used against you. One of our first steps is to examine the circumstances of your arrest to see if law enforcement officers followed the right procedures.
What to do after an arrest for driving while intoxicated
In Texas, it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level above .08 percent, as measured by a blood, breath or urine test. Under state law, you automatically consent to taking one of these tests if a law enforcement officer asks you to do so. It’s worth noting that for commercial drivers, the BAC limit is .04 percent.
If convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI), the penalties can be severe, including fines up to $2,000, up to 180 days incarceration and the loss of your driving privileges for 12 months — and that’s only if it was your first offense. Subsequent convictions come with even greater penalties, including longer time spent in prison, larger fines, and the loss of your license for two years or more. With all that’s at stake, it is critical to work with our team to address the accusations against you and seek reduced or dismissed charges.
Reach out to a hard-working criminal defense attorney
When you’re facing criminal charges in Montgomery County or the surrounding areas, it’s important to consult the experienced defense lawyers at Hope & Causey, P.C., located in Conroe. We offer free initial consultations, so don’t hesitate to call us today at 936-441-4673 or contact us online.